News: Westway Music And The Theatre Cafe Announce Schwartz Songs

June 4, 2024
News: Westway Music And The Theatre Cafe Announce Schwartz Songs

Westway Music, along with The Theatre Cafe, is pleased to announce the full details of Schwartz Songs, an album of spectacular new recordings of Stephen Schwartz’s much-loved songs including Deliver Us and When You Believe (Prince of Egypt), Corner Of The Sky (Pippin), Let There Be (Children of Eden), The Wizard Of Oz and Defying Gravity (Wicked), Colours Of The Wind (Pocahontas), Beautiful City (Godspell) and many more.

Stephen Schwartz’s career has spanned over five decades, and he is the recipient of 3 Grammy Awards, 3 Academy Awards, a Golden Globe Award, 6 Tony Awards and an Olivier Award.

The album features a fantastic array of West End stars including Marisha Wallace, Trevor Dion Nicholas, Samantha Barks, Jamie Muscato, Lucie Jones, Louise Dearman, Kerry Ellis, Rachel Tucker, Billy Luke Nevers, John Owen-Johns, Oliver Tompsett, Rob Houchen, Hiba Elchikhe, Alice Fearn, Rachel John, Peter Joback, Jamie Lambert, Jordan Luke Gage and Emma Kingston.

Neil O’Brien, MD of Westway Music comments, “Along with our friends at The Theatre Cafe, we are thrilled to be releasing this spectacular album of music from an iconic writer and composer, sung by West End royalty. With the first part of the eagerly awaited film adaptation of Wicked coming out this autumn, this is a fantastic time to be celebrating so much of his work.”

The opening track, Defying Gravity, is performed by four of the West End’s leading ladies who have all played ‘Elphaba’ in Wicked in the West End: Kerry Ellis, Rachel Tucker, Lucie Jones and Alice Fearn. Defying Gravity will be released as a single on 21 June.

Kerry Ellis said, “I owe so much to Stephen for the break I had in musical theatre. To be involved with this album and this new arrangement of Defying Gravity, which I have performed on stage for so many years, is truly amazing.”

Rachel Tucker said, “I respect Stephen Schwartz so much and feel honoured to have worked with him for a long time during my career. I never get tired of singing his songs and I was delighted to be asked to join a stellar cast on this album, to celebrate just how much of a genius Stephen is. His music will live on forever.”

Lucie Jones said, “Some incredible performers have played the role of Elphaba and I’m so happy to be performing on this album and record with so many iconic other Green Witches! This new four-part arrangement is truly spellbinding!”

Alice Fearn said, “Having been a long admirer of Stephen Swartz, and been fortunate enough to work with him on several occasions, I’m thrilled to be a part of this album which truly celebrates the breadth and scale of his incredible talent.”

Track Listing

DEFYING GRAVITY (Wicked) Kerry Ellis, Lucie Jones, Rachel Tucker & Alice Fearn

CORNER OF THE SKY (Pippin) Jamie Muscato

AIN’T IT GOOD (Children of Eden) Alice Fearn

ON WINGS OF A SWAN (My Fairy Tale) Peter Jöback

COLOURS OF THE WIND (Pocahontas) Samantha Barks

LET THERE BE (Children of Eden) John Owen-Jones

THE WIZARD AND I (Wicked) Rachel Tucker

ON THE WILLOWS (Godspell) Jordan Luke Gage & Rob Houchen

MEADOWLARK (The Baker’s Wife) Louise Dearman

DELIVER US (The Prince of Egypt) Hiba Elchikhe

BEAUTIFUL CITY (Godspell) Oliver Tompsett

FORGIVENESS EMBRACE (Uncharted Territory) Jamie Lambert

LOST IN THE WILDERNESS (Children of Eden) Billy Luke Nevers

OH, BLESS THE LORD MY SOUL (Godspell) Rachel John

CHILDREN OF THE WIND (Rags) Emma Kingston

WHEN YOU BELIEVE (The Prince of Egypt) Marisha Wallace & Trevor Dion

Album released on CD/Digital on 28th June - Pre order/ Pre Save here
Double Vinyl package released on 9th August - Pre order here
Defying Gravity single released on 21st June - Pre save here
Book a table at The Theatre Cafe Here